maslite.blogg.se

Install quicktime for mac pacifist
Install quicktime for mac pacifist








install quicktime for mac pacifist

This is when I’ve hit the storage crunch: I were rapidly running out of disk space again, and I still needed occasional access to the data on the old Promise storage array.Įasy enough solution was to buy more external disk drives, place them in MacAlly USB2/FW external enclosures, and daisy chain them off the iBook. At this point I’ve only had an iBook and an Ultra 2 running 24/7. I thought that it’s cheaper to leave an old G3 iBook running 24/7 – after all iBook itself only “eats” 65 watts, right? Generally I’ve turned off most of the other hardware – Cisco 3640 got replaced by a Linksys WRT54GS running openWRT, three other Sun systems got powered down, etc. I like big iron, and paying for an E4000 and an external storage array operating 24/7 was getting costly when one’s a student, as opposed to being a productive member of the workforce. Part of the reason was the cost of operation.

#Install quicktime for mac pacifist mac os#

Last little while I’ve been trying to migrate to Mac OS X. Not optimal, but it saved me some stress a couple of times, when it was late, I were tired, and put a space between wildcard and pattern in an rm command. I’ve had a script in cron running once a week, that would snapshot whatever was there, and re-cycle each week. Solaris 8 had support for only one filesystem snapshot at a time, which was better then no snapshots at all, but not great. Once it was a bad block, and the other time drive had issues spinning up.

install quicktime for mac pacifist

Over course of about two and a half years I used two spare drives to replace the ones inside. I bought 10 Maxtor 120 gig drives at the time, and dropped two on the shelf.

install quicktime for mac pacifist

Hardware RAID 5 eliminated problems with losing data due to disk dieing in a fiery death. Specifically, at one point I’ve used a Promise 8 disk IDE to SCSI hardware RAID enclosure, attached to a Sun system, and formatted with UFS. Lately I’ve been thinking more and more about storage.










Install quicktime for mac pacifist